My Vintage Farm Sink

If you’ve visited my other blog, called Building Black Oaks, you know that together my husband and I have designed and are self-building a home.  We love architecture, homes and furniture from the arts and crafts period, specifically that designed or inspired by the brothers, Charles and Henry Greene who lived and built in Pasadena, California at the turn of the 20th century.

We were very excited to find an old farm sink with it’s original enamel and had it crated and shipped from the U.S.  My husband installed it temporarily when the house was ready enough to live in.  This solid cast iron and enameled sink is not for everyone.  It, how shall I say, needs some babying.

It’s shallow, so that a pan cannot be fully submersed.  It stains and is hard to clean.  Finally, the vendor did not know, or more likely did not disclose, that the sink had been re-enameled.  A couple of dings means well loved and is to be expected with antiques, but this “new” enamel is soft and far more susceptible to chipping and pitting.

Image

Temporary Installation of Vintage Farm Sink

 

Yet I love this sink.  I find the horizontal lines and the flanking washboard wings very pleasing to the eye.  I love what it represents, the history of it I mean.   So I’ve had to channel my inner Martha to find a way to keep this sink in shape without gnashing my teeth. 

Five things I would recommend for white enameled sinks. 

Image

Friends of Enameled Sinks Everywhere

1 – Sink Mat.  It’s easy to drop a heavy copper or cast iron pan, so invest in a rubber sink mat.  Mine looks like pebbles.

2 – Bar Keepers Friend.  There are other brands, but I always want an excuse to visit Williams-Sonoma in Sherway Gardens.

3 – Spaghetti Scrubbers – made from corn, they scrub without scratching.  My San Francisco sister puts them in my Christmas stocking every year.

4 – Mr Clean Magic Eraser from P&G – he’s so sexy don’t you think and I be lost without his magic.

5 – Wash out anything with tomato sauce as soon as you can and don’t let the mats “sit” in the sink.

 

4 thoughts on “My Vintage Farm Sink

Leave a Reply

