Pentland Style Lamb Roast

Lamb was a favourite Sunday dinner, served by my Irish Grandmother Lilian, with Crosse & Blackwell Mint Sauce, mashed potatoes and mushy tinned peas, the peas being a holdover from the lean war years.  I’ve made a few changes such as serving the meat medium rare, rather than my grandmother’s hockey puck roasting style.  I’m also not always in the mood for mushy peas and my husband hates them.  My favourite alternate is any kind of roasted root veggie with thyme as seen here http://www.greatbritishchefs.com/recipes/lamb-butternut-squash-recipe

ImageImage

While Canadians find New Zealand lamb as year-round fare, Ontario’s sheep industry is slowly building – they’re even developing a Master Shepherd’s Education program!

At my local Metro, I was lucky to find a small [2.5 lbs] locally raised Winter lamb shank roast.  The shank cut is supposed to be tough and fibrous, but this piece was a perfect balance of meat and fat.  I removed the roast from the fridge an hour earlier, rubbing it with a mixture of four minced garlic cloves, a generous teaspoon of dried mint, ground black pepper, a touch of oregano and enough olive oil to hold it together.  I used our new Komin 10″ skillet to sear the bottom of the meat before putting it into our Lacanche gas oven at 350 degrees for approximately seventy minutes.

I’m always surprised when people say they don’t like the taste of lamb, perhaps with my Irish-Scottish background I am more culturally inclined.  Lamb of roast, chops or ground in Shepherd’s Pie are refreshing changes to beef.  Frenched lamb chops, also called lollipop, are grilled and served alongside warmed green olives, patatas bravas, garlic aioli and garlic shrimp all noteworthy of a tapas dinner party.

For anyone reading my earlier post, the wine was a blended Sicilian wine from Cusumano called noà  yum

One thought on “Pentland Style Lamb Roast

Leave a Reply

